Pic and a Word #145: Peaks

Here are some of the last views of Slovenia before you leave it for Italy. I have just driven from the other direction and will spend the summer here. I wonder how many – if any – I will climb. I’ve got the shoes with me, and that’s a start.

Peaks

This is how I left the last time
in December
so that I could come back again.

I’d say “come back home”
but in the meantime
we’ve built another home by the other sea.

The one thing missing there
apart from a bathtub
is a view of peaks.

Back home we have them aplenty.
The ones pictured here
are not nearly the mightiest.

But these are among the last peaks of Slovenia
that you can see
before you enter Italy.

“Whence come the highest mountains?
I once asked.
Then I learned that they came out of the sea,”

wrote Friedrich Nietzsche
and this is exactly
where I was headed.

For he knows:
“It is out of the deepest depth
that the highest must come to its height.”

/quotations from Friedrich Nietzsche: Thus Spoke Zarathustra/

In response to Patrick Jennings’ Pic and a Word Challenge #145: Peaks

4 thoughts on “Pic and a Word #145: Peaks

Your first thought here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.