Day 11: The future in a cemetery

Challenge 11: “A poem that addresses the future.”

Dressing the future

My future?
That’s an easy one.

I die.
We all die.

It’s so certain
that there’s no need for Future
or Future Perfect Tense.

I die.

First, the perfect present
continues
– “I have been living” –
and then
the future becomes perfectly tense.

Until it’s a wrap.

But before that
I’m bound to suffer
at least a bit.
So far I haven’t done much suffering.

My body will grow things.
My teeth will depart.
It has started.

The process is Irreversible
and is as ugly as that film.

The only way to survive it
is by viewing it backwards.

The Others discover empty houses
and move in by force.

People separate into two groups:
legal and illegal.

Water runs out. Desert wins.

But first?
People close to me die.
Starting with dog.

Before all that
I intend to
not publish a few more books,
not call some people
and not read everything,
watch everything
and visit everything
from my three lists.

I do plan to write some more poems though.
At least twenty
minus one.

You know what?
Life moves in the right direction.
I’m okay with going out like that.
I bet I’ll be pretty tired by then.

NaPoWriMo

Here are some more people who got tired and won epitaphs. Location: Non-Catholic cemetery in Rome, where death has a future.

21 thoughts on “Day 11: The future in a cemetery

  1. What an interesting and unique play on the theme of *future*! I like! … but then again, I do like cemeteries. So many stories ….

    But mostly I like the list of what you intend not to do with your remaining time. You’re such a rebel 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This one’s a keeper!

    “It’s so certain
    that there’s no need for Future
    or Future Perfect Tense.

    I die.

    First, the perfect present
    continues
    – “I have been living” –
    and then
    the future becomes perfectly tense.

    Until it’s a wrap…”

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Every poem an epitaph, or every epitaph a poem? Now I want to forget the poems and just write epitaphs. I love the photos and the poem. Especially the last lines. “I’m okay with…that” pretty much sums it up.

    Liked by 1 person

Your first thought here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.