Police in the streets

::: Samos

No luck this time: we will have to return to the rent-a-scooter for the third time. This one is unreliable too. Sometimes it just won’t start. And Samos is a long island, with only one gas station in the middle.

Sure enough, once we are left without enough fuel to return to our hotel in the bay. A friendly innkeeper sends her boy to fetch some for us, no charge.

We are careful not to stop again lest the scooter refuses to start, not until we can see the capital by the sea below us. Now we know we can descend even without the motor running.

And so we stop, for a view and a smoke no doubt, the sun is setting, it’s a sight. When we are ready to leave, the scooter of course says no. As we feared, we are now forced to continue without motor, without lights, in approaching dusk, with barely any traffic, winning over the curves slowly.

When the road flattens out and the town is almost in reach, we pass a police car. The first police car we even see in Greece. Not now. Sure enough, it follows and a policeman signals us to stop.

Ready to start apologising profusely, as one would be required to do in our Slovenia, we are confused by the silence of the policeman who approaches with a determined step, motions to my co-traveller to step away from the scooter, sits on it himself, attacks the starter with a single, practised charge and when the scooter comes alive, turns to leave with only a hint of a smile in his eyes.

It was nothing this fancy.

:::Los Angeles

The host has fallen asleep, and his son as well. This leaves me and a friend to spend time exploring.

In Los Angeles one doesn’t explore on foot. When we arrived, the host opened the fat map book of Los Angeles on the first page, made a sweeping hand gesture over most of the territory and said: “This is the part you better avoid.”

But they are sleeping now.

So we go out the back door and start walking. The trouble with Los Angeles is that you know it from movies, but it doesn’t know you. So when you get hissed at in Mexican, stared down and out of one neighbourhood after another by groups hanging out at doorsteps, you return home soon.

We see the police car immediately. And even though it’s parked by the road and could be visiting any of the numerous houses in that street, we know at once it’s there for us. What has happened?

We rush to the house where we meet an inquisitive officer and annoyed awaken host. Where did we go? And why did we leave the back door open like that? The neighbour thought there had been a break-in and called the police.


:::Ljubljana

It’s the wee hours. There is no other way to reach home but to walk. No busses, no money for taxi, and anyway, it’s just a few kilometres. We are walking past the railway station to the spot where we have to separate. My friend lives on the other side of the city.

We can feel the police car behind us before we can hear it.

It’s cruising. The window is rolling down and a young jokey voice is asking us if we need a ride. There are two of them. Uncertain whether this is a friendly invitation or an order, we climb in the back seats.

The first thing they ask us is whether we have any cigarettes. They are dying for some.

Then we are asked where we live and the driver decides who to drop off first. It’s my friend. On the way to her place we: start the siren briefly, just for fun; drive much faster than necessary; make a sudden U-turn across the double line that has us flying and hitting the door.

Once she is out, it gets menacing. So much so that I have them stop a few houses before my real one.

When they keep insisting that they come up for some coffee, I tell them that my grandmother is sick and that seeing their uniforms might kill her.

19 thoughts on “Police in the streets

  1. Loved this post ❤ This is the type of writing I'd envisioned doing in my blog, I call it creative travel writing or travel stories… and I have done some posts in this style, but not enough. I haven't been in the right frame of mind for creative writing, too busy and tired. But if this is what your new blog is about, then yippee! 😉 We're on the same wave length! (No surprise!) As for the stories, Greek people are sooo super friendly that it doesn't surprise me at all. And I once knew a guy from LA who told me stories about how dangerous it was if you ended up in the wrong area. Like if you ran out of gas and had to refuel your car at a station in the wrong part of town, there'd be gunshots and so on… How long were you in LA? I've never been there (but I've seen the Hollywood sign from an airplane window so maybe that's enough?!) 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, SMSW, this is a lovely reaction. ❤ You have always been one of my very favourite readers. You have the power to spur me on. I'm not sure, frankly, what kind of writing will appear here, I just feel that I wish to write, and I have nothing ready yet, everything will be posted as it happens. And yes, I remember your travel stories and am always ready for new ones. You write from the right place.

      I was in LA and SF for two weeks ages ago. When Bush was still popular (the band). I guess LA is love it or leave it kind of situation. I loved it. 🙂 Probably because I was so different from everybody in just about everything. We were staying with the father of a friend, so that was cosy, and he showed us around too. His friend lent us her car to drive to SF and meet her there (she flew), talking about trust. I had a feeling when leaving that I'd be back. Who knows…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well that really was generous of her, to borrow her car! Sounds like it would’ve been a fun ride! I’ve always planned on going to New York but have never made it so far… I’m happy if I can spur you on, that’s a nice compliment! You’re of course one of my fave bloggers and readers, too 🙂 Ciao!

        Liked by 1 person

      1. I think I messed up the comments, sorry…In the first comment I meant that the cops in Samos are probably used to help tourists, in the second one I meant to say that the story that happened in Slovenia is very funny, lol.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I can imagine 😂 Sorry if I messed up, I’m here with an unpleasant cervicale (you’ve been in this country long enough to understand what it is and the implications of it when an Italian has to deal with it, I guess 😂 ) and I don’t know what I’m doing 😅

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Charming vignettes, Manja. I love all three, but in different ways. Goes to show, people, no matter the line of work, are simply who they are, on or off the job.

    Liked by 1 person

Your first thought here

